Sunday, 2017-12-17, 12:01 PM
[Forgotten Hope Secret Weapon] European CommunityMain

Registration

Login
Welcome Guest | RSS
/
[ Neue Beiträge · Teilnehmer · Forumregeln · Suche · RSS ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » [FHSW Europ] FHSW 0.51 Server: » Support & Help: » What is my Battlefield 1942 doing?
What is my Battlefield 1942 doing?
DutchDate: Monday, 2015-05-04, 2:43 PM | Message # 1
Lieutenant
Group: Trusted
Messages: 64
Awards: 3
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
I am having some problems with my Batlefield, ill try to list them:

-I need to rejoin a server after map change, otherwise i cant read the letters on the scoreboard, chat and others.
-i cant launch Battlefield or FHSW via the shortcut on desktop, it sends me to origin. can only open it via origin.
-Loading times are even longer now.
-Switching maps closes the game for a second then it pops up again.
-and more

this shit started when i downloaded the damm Desert Combat mod, now after i have deleted it more problems are starting to come up. It has come to the point where i cant join any servers, only vanilla battlefield servers.

Please help me!   cry


''Be carefull the seat is not bolted down, you can't reach the clutch, can't use the brakes, the door flies open, there is a clocking sound, brakes are a lil' sketchy but it has POWER!'' -David Freiburger

Message edited by Dutch - Tuesday, 2015-05-05, 9:38 PM
 
MannsDate: Monday, 2015-05-04, 2:47 PM | Message # 2
Colonel
Group: Recruit
Messages: 288
Awards: 10
Reputation: 1
Status: Offline
08 15 Tips

run as admin
change compability
deactivate firewall

any PFC Mappacks installed ? 
Switching maps always pops the game for a second, its same by mine since I ever played FHSW


honor and duty

Private [DPB]Styv signed up for military service on ranked battlefields at 19:04:56 30|07|2008 in ForgottenHope 1
 
DutchDate: Monday, 2015-05-04, 2:57 PM | Message # 3
Lieutenant
Group: Trusted
Messages: 64
Awards: 3
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Manns, I always run as admin, i don't have anything from PFC, won't say why, and what do i have to change in compadibility?

''Be carefull the seat is not bolted down, you can't reach the clutch, can't use the brakes, the door flies open, there is a clocking sound, brakes are a lil' sketchy but it has POWER!'' -David Freiburger
 
Endless_NamelessDate: Monday, 2015-05-04, 4:09 PM | Message # 4
General
Group: Admins
Messages: 1333
Awards: 38
Reputation: 18
Status: Offline
I think the best thing to do is to uninstall everything and do a clean re-install.

btw. which BF1942 version are you using? Origin?


My Youtube Channel
aka eYe.ris
 
DutchDate: Monday, 2015-05-04, 7:10 PM | Message # 5
Lieutenant
Group: Trusted
Messages: 64
Awards: 3
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Quote Endless_Nameless ()
btw. which BF1942 version are you using? Origin?
Origin.


''Be carefull the seat is not bolted down, you can't reach the clutch, can't use the brakes, the door flies open, there is a clocking sound, brakes are a lil' sketchy but it has POWER!'' -David Freiburger
 
starking018Date: Tuesday, 2015-05-05, 4:57 PM | Message # 6
Lieutenant Colonel
Group: Friends
Messages: 227
Awards: 15
Reputation: 6
Status: Offline
Try replacing your BF1942.exe with the one here: http://team-simple.org/download/ (click Battlefield 1942 v1.612 Origin executable patched). I think you should try to run it with no compatibility mode since some compatibility modes make it slower and it is often not needed anyway. It all depends on what your operating system is.

Air Troll a.k.a. starking018
 
DutchDate: Tuesday, 2015-05-05, 7:10 PM | Message # 7
Lieutenant
Group: Trusted
Messages: 64
Awards: 3
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Quote starking018 ()
Try replacing your BF1942.exe with the one here: http://team-simple.org/download/
Delete old BF1942?

Added (2015-05-05, 7:10 PM)
---------------------------------------------
Thanks Troll, you'll get a award for that!
but my letters are still weird when joining a server, i can live with it but it would be nice if there would be an solution...


''Be carefull the seat is not bolted down, you can't reach the clutch, can't use the brakes, the door flies open, there is a clocking sound, brakes are a lil' sketchy but it has POWER!'' -David Freiburger
 
Mr_JDate: Tuesday, 2015-05-05, 8:08 PM | Message # 8
Accessory Admin
Group: Admins
Messages: 689
Awards: 22
Reputation: 13
Status: Offline
Can you provide a screenshot showing the letters disortion?
 
DutchDate: Tuesday, 2015-05-05, 8:36 PM | Message # 9
Lieutenant
Group: Trusted
Messages: 64
Awards: 3
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Quote Mr_J ()
Can you provide a screenshot showing the letters disortion?
Attachments: 2184965.jpg(120Kb) · 7348807.jpg(167Kb)


''Be carefull the seat is not bolted down, you can't reach the clutch, can't use the brakes, the door flies open, there is a clocking sound, brakes are a lil' sketchy but it has POWER!'' -David Freiburger

Message edited by Dutch - Tuesday, 2015-05-05, 9:42 PM
 
Mr_JDate: Tuesday, 2015-05-05, 10:46 PM | Message # 10
Accessory Admin
Group: Admins
Messages: 689
Awards: 22
Reputation: 13
Status: Offline
My assumption is that the "Higher quality menu and HUD icons for BF1942" you have installed causes this. Or it's due to another font file replacement you made. Try to restore original files, otherwise reinstall the game.
 
starking018Date: Wednesday, 2015-05-06, 8:19 AM | Message # 11
Lieutenant Colonel
Group: Friends
Messages: 227
Awards: 15
Reputation: 6
Status: Offline
I doubt that the higher quality menu and HUD icons for BF1942 is causing this.

From the size of the screenshots it looks like the game runs in 800x600 resolution. You should run it in a higher resolution, typically your screen's native resolution. Check your video settings (the display mode should be something like 1920x1080x32 @ 60 but it depends on your monitor).

By the way, you would also want to increase your field of view, as described here: http://www.widescreengaming.net/wiki/Battlefield_1942 (I think you can skip the read-only part).

A similar (or identical) issue was discussed in another topic. It was fixed after this: http://fhsw-europ.ucoz.de/forum/22-634-9489-16-1422355065. The patch I linked to there is older and I think the one I recommended to you should have the same fix since it says "Widescreen support" in the readme file. But if nothing else works you could try that patch instead. I think the "Compatibility FIX for FH 0.7" may be what is needed.

If these settings and patches are as they should be but the game still runs in 800x600 then it probably means that BF1942.exe is running in an improper compatibility mode, probably Windows 98 or 95 (which also causes slow loading times). For windows 8 you should see this tutorial: http://www.eightforums.com/tutoria....-a.html
What will probably work is try OPTION TWO/Steps 3,4,5 and first try Windows XP (Service pack 2 or 3). You could experiment with other compatibility modes and see which one works fastest and with no problems.


Air Troll a.k.a. starking018
 
DutchDate: Wednesday, 2015-05-06, 8:36 AM | Message # 12
Lieutenant
Group: Trusted
Messages: 64
Awards: 3
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Quote starking018 ()
From the size of the screenshots it looks like the game runs in 800x600 resolution.

I don't know how to screenshot properly so i made these by paint. thats why they are so weird shaped.


''Be carefull the seat is not bolted down, you can't reach the clutch, can't use the brakes, the door flies open, there is a clocking sound, brakes are a lil' sketchy but it has POWER!'' -David Freiburger
 
starking018Date: Wednesday, 2015-05-06, 9:18 AM | Message # 13
Lieutenant Colonel
Group: Friends
Messages: 227
Awards: 15
Reputation: 6
Status: Offline
OK, make a screenshot the way I described in this post: http://fhsw-europ.ucoz.de/forum/22-634-9489-16-1422355065 and it should make it clear if it's 800x600 or not and exactly how the text looks like.

Air Troll a.k.a. starking018
 
DutchDate: Wednesday, 2015-05-06, 12:36 PM | Message # 14
Lieutenant
Group: Trusted
Messages: 64
Awards: 3
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
starking018, I fixed the problem. i played around with the resolution in the settings whilst in game. and it fixed the graphic issue.
I did some test joins on a few servers and as far as i can see the problem is solved!

Thanks for the help everybody.


''Be carefull the seat is not bolted down, you can't reach the clutch, can't use the brakes, the door flies open, there is a clocking sound, brakes are a lil' sketchy but it has POWER!'' -David Freiburger
 
DutchDate: Wednesday, 2015-05-06, 5:12 PM | Message # 15
Lieutenant
Group: Trusted
Messages: 64
Awards: 3
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Is this normal?
Attachments: 2675224.jpg(154Kb)


''Be carefull the seat is not bolted down, you can't reach the clutch, can't use the brakes, the door flies open, there is a clocking sound, brakes are a lil' sketchy but it has POWER!'' -David Freiburger
 
starking018Date: Wednesday, 2015-05-06, 5:49 PM | Message # 16
Lieutenant Colonel
Group: Friends
Messages: 227
Awards: 15
Reputation: 6
Status: Offline
Those "gaps" in the top and bottom - yes, because it looks like you've set a FOV of 1.33333 while at the same time a 1024x768 resolution, which is not a widescreen resolution. If you really use a 4x3 aspect ratio monitor (like a CRT like I do) that is OK and I do have similar settings. However, your combination of low resolution and high FOV will result in you not being able to see or identify well e.g. small objects at a distance like fighter airplanes.

If your monitor is a widescreen then your picture is either stretched or with black bars on the sides, which is just stupid, or a waste, considering that Battlefield 1942 can work with widescreen resolutions.


Air Troll a.k.a. starking018

Message edited by starking018 - Wednesday, 2015-05-06, 5:51 PM
 
DutchDate: Wednesday, 2015-05-06, 7:35 PM | Message # 17
Lieutenant
Group: Trusted
Messages: 64
Awards: 3
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Quote starking018 ()
yes, because it looks like you've set a FOV of 1.33333
What should it be at? I have a toshiba sattlelite. i dont know the specs or the screen. i dont know sjit about computers...

Added (2015-05-06, 7:35 PM)
---------------------------------------------
Set it to 1.2, seems to be working.


''Be carefull the seat is not bolted down, you can't reach the clutch, can't use the brakes, the door flies open, there is a clocking sound, brakes are a lil' sketchy but it has POWER!'' -David Freiburger

Message edited by Dutch - Wednesday, 2015-05-06, 7:27 PM
 
starking018Date: Thursday, 2015-05-07, 8:27 AM | Message # 18
Lieutenant Colonel
Group: Friends
Messages: 227
Awards: 15
Reputation: 6
Status: Offline
First, find out what your screen's native resolution is. See here: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-8/get-best-display-monitor in "Set your monitor to its native resolution" (ignore the tables at the end). This is the resolution setting just for Windows, games usually have separate resolution settings. You don't need to change the resolution there if you like it as it is, just see what the maximum/recommended resolution is.

Then go into Battlefield 1942's settings and select that resolution (it's probably the largest there), followed by x32..., save the settings and see how it looks like when you join a server. If the native resolution is not available in the menu (unlikely) you may have to follow the instructions here: http://www.widescreengaming.net/wiki/Battlefield_1942

Finally, you can use the table at the end of the same article to see what aspect ratio (16:10 or 16:9) your resolution is in and then what the recommended FOV setting is for that aspect ratio. But you could just experiment with different values and use whatever you like.


Air Troll a.k.a. starking018

Message edited by starking018 - Thursday, 2015-05-07, 8:29 AM
 
DutchDate: Thursday, 2015-05-07, 10:25 AM | Message # 19
Lieutenant
Group: Trusted
Messages: 64
Awards: 3
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
1280 × 800 Screen and thats 1.2 for apect ratio.
in game:1024x768 and 1.2 in game.
Visual problems solved. 

Many thanks to the patient hero Starking, must have been frustrating talking to such a idiot...


''Be carefull the seat is not bolted down, you can't reach the clutch, can't use the brakes, the door flies open, there is a clocking sound, brakes are a lil' sketchy but it has POWER!'' -David Freiburger
 
starking018Date: Thursday, 2015-05-07, 11:22 AM | Message # 20
Lieutenant Colonel
Group: Friends
Messages: 227
Awards: 15
Reputation: 6
Status: Offline
If you're happy with your settings that's good. I don't want anyone being constrained or not playing at all only because of some technical issue.

Air Troll a.k.a. starking018
 
Forum » [FHSW Europ] FHSW 0.51 Server: » Support & Help: » What is my Battlefield 1942 doing?
Page 1 of 11
Search:

Copyright MyCorp © 2017 Powered by Stefan1990