[ Neue Beiträge · Teilnehmer · Forumregeln · Suche · RSS ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » Welcome to the [FHSW] Europ Community! » FHSW Corner » Hi to all
Hi to all
mastakillaDate: Thursday, 2015-05-07, 5:51 PM | Message # 1
Private
Group: Recruit
Awards: 0
I couldn't find any new member introduction forum or thread, so I thought I'd introduce myself here. Moderators feel free to move the thread if I am in the wrong section.

My in game nick is Black Mamba. I have been playing this game since 2004/2005 but quickly became bored with the repetitive layout of the vanilla + XPack maps and content. In 2006/2007, I started modding the Secret Weapons Demo, which is the demo for the official XPack Secret Weapons.

At first I started fiddling with the server side code but quickly became interested in making client-side mods, and later, full game conversions. It is interesting to note that a number of fun mods were made for this demo, which, running on v1.45 of BF1942.exe, allowed for real client-side modding compared to the BF1942 Multiplayer Demo, which is v.1.0/1.1 and was really limited in that regard.

Quickly after starting to make full conversion mods for the SW Demo, I went back to retail and decided to gather more modding knowledge there. I realized modding a dead demo wasn't going to get me anywhere in the BF1942 Modding universe, so I ultimately moved to full for all my modding projects for good.

Plus, the SW Demo didn't allow quick mod/map switching as it was limited to only one map (Hellendoorn) and mod (XPack2), which started to become a major turn off for me. During my time on the full version of the game, I probably downloaded and installed around 30 + GB of mods of all sorts. FHSW was one of them and I was amazed by the amount of models, maps, vehicles and other pieces of code that were put into that mod. With EoD, DC and all it's variants, FH, GC, FinnWars and BFP, it was hands down the most amazing mod I've played.